Frequently Asked Questions

Start Times:

We are here for a fresh early morning sunrise ceremony all the way to your romantic sunset ceremony. Wedding ceremony start times vary depending on the season.  Sunset arrives earlier November through February, so evening ceremonies begin as early as 4:30, and March through October sunset can be as late as 10:00.  Romantic holidays such as Valentine's Day, New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve, and Halloween events can roll until midnight! In any case, we ask you to arrive at least 15 minutes prior to your ceremony start time.

Do we need to get a Florida Marriage License for our wedding?

Yes, every couple is required to get a Florida Marriage license to legally perform your wedding ceremony in Florida.

When Should I get my Florida Marriage License?

If BOTH of you are non-Florida residents (out-of-state), you can get your Florida marriage license the same day that you get married. If one, or both of you, are a Florida resident, there is a three-day waiting period, and this waiting period does not include the day you obtain your marriage license. You can get your marriage license up to 60 days before your wedding.

Is our Marriage License an additional cost?

Your Florida marriage license is not included in any of our packages, as the bride and groom must obtain their own marriage license. The cost of a Florida marriage license is $86.00.

What do I need to get my Marriage License?

You will need a valid government issued photo ID. If one, or both of you have been divorced, you will need the date your divorce was finalized. No blood tests are needed to obtain your license. If you are an international visitor, there is no residency or citizenship requirement to apply for a Florida marriage license but you will need your photo passport.

Is my Florida Marriage License Valid in my home town?

Your Florida marriage license is valid in all 50 states, as well as internationally. If you are not a citizen of the United States, you will need to register your certified copy of your marriage license with your own country for validation.

I got My Marriage license, now what?

You must bring your Florida marriage license with you to your ceremony. We will take it with us and officially file it after the ceremony. It may take several weeks for you to receive your certificate from the county clerk.

Deposit, Cancellation, Rescheduling and Refund Policies

A deposit (50% of package price) is needed to reserve your date. Deposits are refundable up to 30 days prior to your reservation. This reserves your date, package, staff, location, etc. Shorter than 30 days, your package is transferable to a new date.

What happens if it rains on my wedding day?

It is unusual that it rains all day in Florida, and usually is just a passing shower. If this is the case and moving your wedding time up is not an option, we can wait it out for up to 60 minutes

How to obtain a marriage license:

Qualifications:

  • You must be at least 18 years of age to apply without parental consent.

  • Both parties must apply in person and bring identification.

  • If you have been divorced, the divorce decree is required.

  • If your previous marriage ended in death, the date of death is required.

Fees:

  • $86.00 without a premarital preparation course, and there is no blood test.

  • Payment of fee accepted in cash, money order, cashier check, Visa, or Master Card

Florida Statute Requirements:

  • All Florida applicants are subject to a 3-day waiting period.
    There is no waiting period for non-residents

  • All applicants are required to read the Family Law Handbook (available on premises).

  • A Marriage license is valid for 60 days from the effective date.

  • If the marriage license is obtained in Florida, the couple may be married 
    anywhere in the State of Florida.

You can obtain your marriage license at any County Clerk’s office in Florida; however, the following is located near our chapel:

Charlotte County

350 East Marion Avenue
Punta Gorda, Florida, 33950

Phone 941-637-2240

Hours: 08:00 am - 4:00 pm

Do you provide a minister or officiant?  Can we bring our own? 

All of our wedding packages include the officiant, although you are welcomed to "BYOM".  Supplying your own minister would not increase or decrease the price, however.

Do we get a rehearsal?

Yes, if you are planning a more traditional event, we ask that the couple and attendants arrive 60 minutes prior to the ceremony for rehearsal.  Weddings are personal. If you are interested in keeping with tradition where the groom catches his first glimpse upon the bride's walk down the aisle, the bride and groom should arrive separately. When the bride arrives, we can keep her out of view until the right moment. 

Can we schedule a rehearsal the night or two before the day of the event?

YES. We are happy to accommodate for an additional $100.  We do recognize the tradition and how it can be almost as much fun to plan a party before the party! There are several local hot spots in our hometown for your rehearsal dinner to follow.  Allow us to make a recommendation that may fit within your budget!

How long does it take to get married at the mini chapel?

Most wedding ceremonies are 15 to 20 minutes in length, although we ask the bridal party (if any) to arrive 15-30 minutes prior. Similarly, we provide additional time after the ceremony for altar formals and beach or garden photography.

When should we book our date?

As soon as you are sure of your date and time!  We have couples who book as early as a year in advance for a more traditional affair and others, spontaneously come from the hustle and bustle of the big city, or an airport, whimsically on track for an intimate garden ceremony that may have been arranged by phone earlier that day! In any case, we do need to know you are coming in advance before we can tie the knot!  For those looking for more traditional accommodations, it is important to place your deposit as soon as you are able.  Times can book up quickly!

How much deposit is required to book a date and what is your refund policy? 

A deposit of 50% of your package price is required to secure your date and time.  The deposit is refundable with a cancelation of 30 days in advance. Shorter than 30 days, your package is transferable to a new date.

Can I get married today or tomorrow?

Most often yes, if you have your marriage license and need immediate nuptials, we are ready when you are!  Please call for an appointment.

Do you have a reception venue?

Resource lists will be provided upon booking, as there are many reception venues at every price point within a 20-mile radius.

Can we decorate the chapel our way and add or take away decor?

Because our arrangements that decorate our wedding chapels are silk, they are floral colors in muted tones so all parties should blend and meld with the neutral scheme.  We are also willing to decorate in a specific color for an additional fee. Additionally, one of the benefits of the “chapel system" is the all- inclusiveness.  Decor is just one more expense you do not need to worry about.

How many people can I have in my bridal party?

The wedding chapel was designed for small intimate weddings.  Along with a maximum of 24 guests, we ask that you include no more than 4 or 6 grown up attendants total (2 or 3 on each side) along with an additional flower girl or ring bearer or two.

Can we get dressed at the chapel?

No, sorry.

Is there anything to do in Port Charlotte or places to stay?

Of course!  We would be happy to provide recommendations.

Additional information about a Florida Marriage License

Marriage licenses are issued by counties and you can apply for your license at any county clerk's office. You can get married in any county in Florida, regardless of where you obtained your marriage license. To obtain a marriage license you need:

  • Identification: a picture ID such as a driver's license, state ID card, or valid passport; both parties will also hav eto provide their Social Security numbers, but do not need to provide their Social Security Cards. 

  • Fee: $86.00

Marriage license is valid for 60 days after issuance. You must perform the ceremony of marriage before the 60 days have expired. Blood Tests are not required. There is a 3-day waiting period after issuance of the license before you can get married, unless you are both from out of state, then there is no wait required.

What if I have been married before?

If either applicant has been previously married, the exact date of divorce, death or annulment must be presented as well as the state and county where the divorce took place.  

Recording of License

After the ceremony is performed, the marriage license must be sent or brought to the Clerk by the person who performed the ceremony.  It will then be recorded in the Official Records and an official copy sent to the new couple.

What if I am an International Visitor?

If you are an international visitor, there is no residency or citizenship requirement to apply for a Florida marriage license, but you will need your photo passport.

Start Times:

We are available for a fresh, early morning sunrise ceremony, all the way to your romantic sunset festivities. Wedding ceremony start times vary depending on the season.  Sunset arrives earlier November through February, so evening ceremonies begin as early as 4:30, and March through October sunset can be as late as 10:00.  Romantic holidays such as Valentine's Day, New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve, and Halloween events can roll until midnight! In any case, we ask you to arrive at least 15 minutes prior to your ceremony start time.

Do we need to get a Florida Marriage License for our wedding?

Yes, every couple is required to get a Florida Marriage license to legally perform your wedding ceremony in Florida.

When Should I get my Florida Marriage License?
If BOTH of you are non-Florida residents (out-of-state), you can get your Florida marriage license the same day that you get married. If one, or both of you, are a Florida resident, there is a three-day waiting period, and this waiting period does not include the day you obtain your marriage license. You can get your marriage license up to 60 days before your wedding.

Is our Marriage License an additional cost?

Your Florida marriage license is not included in any of our packages, as the bride and groom must obtain their own marriage license. The cost of a Florida marriage license is $86.00.

What do I need to get my Marriage License?

You will need a valid government issued photo ID. If one, or both of you have been divorced, you will need the date your divorce was finalized. No blood tests are needed to obtain your license. If you are an international visitor, there is no residency or citizenship requirement to apply for a Florida marriage license but you will need your photo passport.

Is my Florida Marriage License Valid in my home town?

Your Florida marriage license is valid in all 50 states, as well as internationally. If you are not a citizen of the United States, you will need to register your certified copy of your marriage license with your own country for validation.

I got My Marriage license, now what?

You must bring your Florida marriage license with you to your ceremony. We will take it with us and officially file it after the ceremony. It may take several weeks for you to receive your certificate from the county clerk.

Deposit, Cancellation, Rescheduling and Refund Policies

A deposit (50% of package price) is needed to reserve your date. Deposits are refundable up to 30 days prior to your reservation. This reserves your date, package, staff, and location. Shorter than 30 days, your package is transferable to a new date.

What happens if it rains on my wedding day?

It is unusual that it rains all day in Florida, and usually it is just a passing shower. If this is the case and moving your wedding time up is not an option, we can wait it out for up to 60 minutes. Other options may be the day before or the day after.

How to obtain a marriage license:

Qualifications:

  • You must be at least 18 years of age to apply without parental consent.

  • Both parties must apply in person at the Clerk of Court and bring identification.

  • If you have been previously married, the date of your divorce or date of your spouse's death must be supplied. If the divorce or spouse's death occurred within the past 30 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate is required.

Fees:

  • $86.00 without a premarital preparation course, and there is no blood test.

Florida Statute Requirements:

  • All Florida applicants are subject to a 3-day waiting period.
    There is no waiting period for non-residents

  • A Marriage license is valid for 60 days from the effective date.

  • If the marriage license is obtained in Florida, the couple may be married 
    anywhere in the State of Florida.

You can obtain your marriage license at any County Clerk’s office in Florida; however, the following is located near our chapel:

Charlotte County Court Clerk

350 East Marion Avenue
Punta Gorda, Florida, 33950

Phone 941-637-2240

Hours: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Do you provide a minister or officiant?  Can we bring our own? We have a local Wedding Officiant who we work with, and he will contact you about a week before the wedding to hear your story and talk about vows!  His fee is $200. 

Can we schedule a rehearsal the night or two before the day of the event?

We are happy to accommodate a rehearsal for an additional $300.  We do recognize the tradition and how it can be almost as much fun to plan a party before the party! There are several local hot spots in our hometown for your rehearsal dinner to follow.  Allow us to make a recommendation that may fit within your budget!

How long does it take to get married at the mini chapel?

Most wedding ceremonies are 15 to 20 minutes in length, although we ask the bridal party (if any) to arrive 15 minutes prior. Similarly, we provide additional time after the ceremony for altar formals and beach or garden photography. Each package will give additional information.

When should we book our date?

As soon as you are sure of your date and time!  We have couples who book as early as a year in advance for a more traditional affair. Others spontaneously come from the hustle and bustle of the big city, or an airport, whimsically on track for an intimate garden ceremony that may have been arranged by phone earlier that day! In any case, we do need to know you are coming in advance before we can tie the knot!  For those looking for more traditional accommodations, it is important to place your deposit as soon as you are able.  Times can book up quickly!

How much deposit is required to book a date and what is your refund policy? 

A deposit of 50% of your package price is required to secure your date and time.  The deposit is refundable with a cancelation of 30 days in advance. Shorter than 30 days, your package is transferable to a new date.

Can I get married today or tomorrow?

Most often yes, if you have your marriage license and need immediate nuptials, we are ready when you are!  Please call for an appointment.

Do you have a reception venue?
There are many reception venues within a 10-mile radius. Please call us for help with your rehearsal dinner, reception, wedding flowers, or any other wedding planning!  We can give you a customized package, as we are expert party planners!  (We have been known to pull off a beautiful wedding for 70 people for under $10,000!  Ask us how!)

Can we decorate the chapel our way and add or take away decor?

Because our arrangements that decorate our wedding chapels are silk, they are floral colors in muted tones so all parties should blend and meld with the neutral scheme.  We are also willing to decorate in a specific color or theme for an additional fee. Additionally, one of the benefits of our magical chapel is the all-inclusiveness.  Decor is just one more expense you do not need to worry about.

How many people can I have in my bridal party?
The wedding chapel was designed for small intimate weddings, however we can set up to 70 chairs neatly in front of the chapel while you marry on the front porch!  We suggest that you include no more than 4 or 6 grown attendants total (2 or 3 on each side) along with an additional flower girl or ring bearer or two.

Is there a place to change into my wedding dress?

While restrooms are available, they lack the space you may need to dress for your ceremony. We ask our couples to arrive dressed and ready.

Is there anything to do in Port Charlotte or places to stay?

Of course!  We would be happy to provide recommendations.

What if I have been married before?

If either applicant has been previously married, the exact date of divorce, death or annulment must be presented as well as the state and county where the divorce took place.  

Recording of License

After the ceremony is performed, the marriage license must be sent or brought to the Clerk by the person who performed the ceremony.  It will then be recorded in the Official Records and an official copy sent to the new couple.

What if I am an International Visitor?

If you are an international visitor, there is no residency or citizenship requirement to apply for a Florida marriage license, but you will need your photo passport.

NOTE: All couples must present a valid Florida State Marriage License for us to perform your ceremony.